Lise Betteridge

Message from the Registrar and CEO

Title Protection Protects the Public

At the Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers, we continue to enhance our regulatory effectiveness through a number of new and ongoing initiatives, in the fulfillment of our mission to protect the interest of the public.

MORE "%s"

The Duty to Report Child Abuse and Neglect

An OCSWSSW Member’s Obligations

The Child, Youth and Family Services Act, 2017 (CYFSA) and its supporting regulations were proclaimed on April 30, 2018. Of particular relevance to social workers and social service workers is Section 125, which sets out the duty to report.

MORE "%s"

New Council Roster for 2018/19

The Council is the 21-member governing body and board of directors that manages and administers the College’s affairs. Council oversees the policy direction of the College as it fulfills its mandate to protect the public interest.

MORE "%s"

Recent Service Disruption

The College’s continued commitment to transparency

As part of the College’s ongoing commitment to transparency, a Message from the Registrar and CEO was distributed to members last month advising of a service disruption that occurred from August 24-29 that affected email communication and access to the member portal and Online Register.

MORE "%s"
Practice Notes

Practice Notes: What’s Legislation Got to Do with It?

Practice Notes is an educational tool designed to help Ontario social workers, social service workers, employers and members of the public gain a better understanding of recurring issues dealt with by the Professional Practice Department and the Complaints Committee that may affect everyday practice.

MORE "%s"

Council Meeting Highlights for September 6-7, 2018

The following Council members were elected by Council to the Executive Committee: Shelley Hale, RSSW – President; Lisa Seburn, RSW – Vice-President; Déirdre Smith, Public Member – Vice-President; Toula Kourgiantakis, RSW – Executive Member; Mukesh Kowlessar, RSSW – Executive Member; and Rick Lamb, Public Member – Executive Member.

MORE "%s"